Any foreign national who wishes to enter Myanmar must obtain a visa unless they are a citizen of one of the eligible visa exempt countries. All visitors to Myanmar must hold a passport valid for at least 6 months.

The Visa Exemption allows tourists to enter Myanmar without a visa according to the indicated regulations by the Myanmar government.

For more information about visa exempt countries, please visit or

Visa on Arrival

The Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar has announced that the ordinary passport holders from the following countries are eligible to apply for the Visa on Arrival (Tourist) in Myanmar starting from 1st October 2019 for one year probation period:

  • Australia
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland

The terms and conditions of the Visa on Arrival are as follows:

  • Holders of the ordinary passports from the above-mentioned countries who travel by the flight can apply for the Visa on Arrival (Tourist) at the Yangon International Airport, Mandalay International Airport and Nay Pyi Taw International Airport.
  • Fee for Visa on Arrival (Tourist) is US$ 50 and the duration of stay (in Myanmar) is 30 days.
  • The Visa on Arrival (Tourist) will be grated for the tourism purpose only.
  • Extension of stays will not be granted.
  • Applicant shall abide by the existing laws and rules and regulations of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar.
  • Applicant can travel any places except the restricted area for the security reason.
  • Concerned Security and Immigration authorities can deny the applicant’s entry into Myanmar.
  • Applicant must depart from any International entry/ exist point of Myanmar.

More information:


Myanmar launched an eVisa system on 1 September 2014. eVisas are issued online for tourism and business purposes only. An evisa is issued within 3 working days, is valid for 90 days from the date of issue and allows a maximum stay of up to 28 days (for tourists) or 70 days (for business travellers with an invitation). The fee for a business eVisa is US$70, while a tourist eVisa costs US$50. Visas are issued free of charge to children under 7.

The list of eligible countries was expanded twice, first in October 2014, then in January 2015. In July 2015, the business eVisa was introduced.

Holders of eVisas must enter from one of the following ports of entry:

  • Yangon International Airport
  • Nay Pyi Taw International Airport
  • Mandalay International Airport
  • Kawthaung Land Border Checkpoint with Thailand
  • Myawaddy Land Border Checkpoint with Thailand
  • Tachileik Land Border Checkpoint with Thailand
  • Rihkhawdar Land Border Checkpoint with India
  • Tamu Land Border Checkpoint with India

For more information about eVisa and the list of eligible nationalities, please visit

The best way to get entered to Myanmar is to apply for a Tourist Visa. For the event, the best connection to Bagan is to take a domestic flight from Nay Pyi Taw or Yangon International Airport.

The border checkpoints falling under this category are:

International Airports
Yangon International Airport and

Mandalay International Airport

Local Regional Airport
Nyaung U Airport in Bagan

For more information about the visa issue, please visit